Of all the advice I’ve been offered or read over my life … one short statement has stuck to me like soothing peanut buttah on the roof of my mouth  … the most true …

This too 3

 

Unless you’re Steve Jobs or Amy Winehouse. It passed alright, but not in the way they, or we, might like.

This Too Shall Pass works in both directions: the GOOD… and … the BAD.

Today I’ll zone in on the bad. But, with optimism floaters in my eyes.

Optimist: person who travels on nothing from nowhere to happiness.” Mark Twain

Yes, the bad. We’re much more aware and tuned into the hardships that won’t seem to slough off … the BAD.

We all have shitty days, shitty weeks, shitty months and sadly sometimes, shitty years. SHIT Happens!

THIS TOO SHALL PASS

You may be in the middle of one of those shitty times…

Think of:

  • all the things that have scared you
  • all the times you’ve screwed up
  • the trauma of being dumped in a relationship
  • someone close to you dying
  • being fired or losing a job
  • struggling with health issues when your ears are buzzing because the doctor has just given you bad news …
  • being a Toronto Maple Leafs’ fan

Maple Leafs X Box

SHIT SHAT SHOT!

When the first thoughts are, “I can’t handle this … I can’t go on…

It’s painful and we bleed and we cry. It happens to every single one of us, bar none.

So cry and bleed. Why deny what’s there.

Once the initial shock or trauma wears off …

… Then … we begin to climb out of the septic tank, no matter how deep it is, just like the little kid at the beginning of the movie Slumdog Millionaire. Disgusting!

Holes happen – like shit happens – and then are climbed out of and filled in, a scab that fades and sloughs with time.

THIS TOO SHALL PASS

  • When I struggled before discovering I was hypothyroid and not actually dying, I was in a hole.
  • When my first real girlfriend dumped me, I was in a hole.
  • When my son was gravely ill and I thought he might die, but didn’t, I was in a hole.
  • When I came to the realization that I hated my lab job on Vancouver Island (sometimes we’re not even sure of what we’re feeling at the time) and dreaded going to work, I was in a hole.

I thought these hurts, these pains, these worries were there forever. But I was wrong.

It just feels that way when we’re in the hole and are still looking down into the darkness of the pit … before we turn our head upwards towards the light streaming in from above.

Hemingway said it succinctly, “The Sun Also Rises”.

sun and shadow

THIS TOO SHALL PASS

The bad news: nothing is permanent.  The good news: nothing is permanent.”

Every dark period passes.

But it’s up to us to find the strength, the internal dialogue of optimism, that helps to push us in the right direction.

It’s up to us to turn off the bastard voices that crowd our heads telling us that the world is crashing and nothing will ever be right again.

It’s the time when we have to stare the darkness down and repeat over and over, “This Too Shall Pass”.

Because it will pass.

Maybe not today.

Maybe not tomorrow.

But with patience and time, clouds part and let the sun shine through, traffic dwindles to let you make the left turn onto the highway, forest fires get drenched by rains, my cooking of the garbage eventually produces something worth eating.

I have a later life sense of optimism that has been well earned and learned through difficult times.

I’ve learned it so well because I’ve had so many wonderful, positive experiences following the dark times. I’m betting you have too.

THIS TOO SHALL PASS

… Unless… except… if … IF… if … you’re a Toronto Maple Leafs’ fan.

That’s a cesspool hole you’re never escaping.

im-sorry

 

 

 

 

 

