Genesis 2: And the rib, which the LORD God had taken from man,

made he a woman, and brought her unto the man.

        The next line in The King James version of the Bible should then read:

And Adam said, Honey do you know where my running socks are? My red tie? The onions we bought on the weekend? The vacuum cleaner? The TV remote? Especially the TV remote!

    I’m betting that the same scenario mentioned above occurs all the time in the homes of:
                • George Clooney
                • Stephen Harper (substitute Barack Obama if you’re reading this in the U.S.)
                • and this year’s Nobel Peace Prize winners, which in this case was awarded jointly to Ellen Johnson Sirleaf, Leymah Gbowee and Tawakkol Karman “for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women’s rights to full participation in peace-building work”. Of course, in the Nobel winners’ cases, they are the ones who are being asked the questions!
English: President Barack Obama discusses the ...

Obama: “Sorry George, I’ve looked everywhere…I’ll just have to get Michelle to locate the White Paper on Sudan for you.”

So…who does lose things more often…MEN…or…WOMEN?

The 10 most frequently lost household items of 3,000 people polled by ensure insurance:

1. Mobile / smartphone
2. House keys
3. Car Keys
4. Paperwork
5. Sunglasses / spectacles
6. Purse / wallet
7. Lip balm
8. Hair brush
9. Gloves
10. Clothing

The little research available out there on this says that Men are far worse than women – with a third of wives claiming that their husbands regularly misplace household items. Further, it found that four out of ten often argue with their partner about lost items.

Just as every person, regardless of placement high or low in society, pulls on their pants one leg at a time, I’m betting that every man, including George Clooney, and me,  is hopeless at locating anything in his own home. I can’t swear this is true, but for me, it is definitely the case. Affluenza (accumulation of mounds of stuff) is part of the problem , for sure, but the bigger problem is that I can’t see things even when they’re literally under my nose!

This “lost my screlifelotter” scene occurs in my house numerous times every week, and my significant other has taken to saying,

Well, did you take a man’s look, or a woman’s look?

 – Sorry, but the difference is?

You know, a man just skims the surface and if he can’t find what he’s looking for, he comes whimpering to the woman to help him (this is kinda like men whining  when they’re sick).

Within 2 minutes she has located my frustratingly long-lost item and I’m back in the game…I can cook, or clean, or build, or play. I’m happy. I’m back in the saddle metaphorically…if only I could find my horse now, where did I put that horse?!

Focus and concentration…maybe this is the missing idea that will save men like me from misplacing their keys, and glasses. Conscious thought of what we’re doing at all times. I honestly believe that focus is one key to success in all areas of life (more on this topic in a later blog). But this would forbid me and others from living in our Walter Mitty worlds….hmmm, such a dilemma!

Is this one way that men and women differ? Women are able to multitask…talk on the phone, prepare a meal, and put away folded laundry simultaneously with absorbing the location that they set down their keys? Perhaps the evolutionary process has better endowed damsels with search and rescue capability in order to find their children in the Lucky Charms aisle or a partner missing in the bra section of Victoria’s Secret. 

“You hold this for a minute and I’ll find your screwdriver!”

I’d hazard a guess that if Adam and Eve were still here with us today (why DID you eat that apple anyways!), that poor hopeless schmuck Adam would be wearing only one sock!

